Breaking away from the stereotypes

Depending on what genre you are pigeonholed into, there are certain expectations that are put on you when it comes to how you present yourself. I have faced this hurdle as someone who plays classically, as well as in a symphonic metal band. The metal band part wasn’t too hard, I’ve always been more of an alt person on the inside and so presenting that way it more natural for me. Classically, however, it’s been a different story.

As far as the stereotypes go, if you are biologically female and a classical musician, you’re expected to wear long, black, flowy dresses, with flowing hair to match, in a natural shade. I stopped wearing dresses a while a go, opting for the black top, blazer and trousers. Thankfully, this is becoming more of a norm. However, I’ve always wanted to have colour in my hair. Finally, I took a leap and got it done the way that I want it. Being in a genre shouldn’t hold you back from presenting as yourself. While I’m apprehensive about the reaction I will get from my orchestra peers, I am happy with my long-awaited purple streaks.

On the flip-side, I’m sure there are some metal musicians out there who don’t go for the full metal look. I still wear braces with my leather-look jeans. Music is a creative artform, style on stage should be an extension of that. Wear what you feel good in and the performance will be even better.

We’re in a new time, where gender identity is more visible (and don’t get me wrong, I was also worrying that purple was too ‘femme’ before I realised that I was being ridiculous) and thankfully, a lot of people have more space to present in a way that’s true to themselves (to varying levels, depending on cultures).

So let’s break the mould and live and perform as our true selves, regardless of our respective genres.

Leave a comment